Look at that, it’s Thursday.

So here we are, it’s Thursday, the weekly writing post is here.

As I said, I want to talk about outlines. I hate outlines. I wrote an outline for NaNoWriMo 2014 and it took me three days to fill one page and I bitched and complained to everyone about it the whole time. Afterwards I felt like I had zapped all my energy. It took me a whole day to find the energy to write again, good thing that I started early enough with that outline.

For NaNoWriMo 2015 I skipped the outline. I had a rough plan but I didn’t make an outline. I just wrote by the seat of my pants like I have always done. It was fun!

So, outlines are not for me, right?

But here’s the thing: I won NaNo2014 but I didn’t even make it to a half NaNo in 2015. I may hate the process of outlining but I’m convinced that they are absolutely necessary to write consistently and in useful amounts of words. What’s a useful amount of words? I don’t know yet but it’s closer to 1000 words than 100 per day.

Among the many, many, MANY links and books with writing advice I have plenty of advice to get me started on outlines. But I decided to mostly follow the advice in these two books:

  1. Take Off Your Pants!: Outline Your Books for Faster, Better Writing 
    by Libbie Hawker
  2. 2k to 10k: Writing Faster, Writing Better, and Writing More of What You Love
    by Rachel Aaron

I may add other things to the coming posts because I have collected a LOT OF advice. But I want to limit myself to three resources because I have a tendency to overload myself with information and then I do nothing with it.

More to come in my adventures of writing this novel soon!

Leave a Reply

