NaNoWriMo is go!

I decided to do NaNoWriMo, or as I like to call it InterNaNoWriMo, but I’m going to do it to my own rules. This means that I’m joining in on the fun and the great worldwide community feeling of writing but I’m not aiming for 50,000 words.

I did my first NaNo in 2013 with a mass effect fic and I actually won. I wrote like crazy, managed to write 52,000 words and then I crashed. I had the biggest writer’s block ever after November 2013. I think I had not even overcome it by the time I started on NaNo2014. I would rather not fall into a hole like that again.

For this years NaNo, I’m aiming for 30,000 words. It will be a dirty first draft, pretty much flying blind and only with the barest outline (I know that because I haven’t even started on an outline yet). It will still be a challenge because on most days I don’t even manage to write my 960 words but I feel like it is at least doable.

So, I’ll be joining you all in blood, sweat and tears and pull my hair along with you (does that metaphor even work in english?) and will be happy with my dirty first draft in December, even if it’s a bit shorter than all the others.

If you want to do NaNo too, join the site and add me as your writing buddy. nanowrimo.org/participants/barbex

Leave a Reply

