What to do to get going and a wordcount tool

gandalf-writing

As we all know by now, I’m not quite into the 960-words-every-day routine yet. That is putting it nicely. I refuse to call it writer’s block but you can probably relate. There are stories in my head, many snippets and things but they don’t form a coherent thing.

I’m doing a few things to get out of the slump. One is writing fanfiction because I just love it. I see fanfiction as the current playground of short story fiction, stories that focus on characters, on small scenes without the worldbuilding because you don’t need to do worldbuilding in fanfiction, the world is already there!

Another thing is a translation job on babelcube I took up at the beginning of the year, thinking that it would be something that has to do with writing and is easy to do on the side.

gibbs_head_slap_by_eib29
Yes, I’m an idiot.
As anybody who does translations will tell you, translating is incredibly difficult. I already had to ask for an extension because it requires way more research than I thought. The book is nonfiction and I’m translating it into German. It’s really fascinating and I get so many story ideas just reading it. You can find it here if you’re interested: Lost Civilizations: 10 Societies that Vanished Without a Trace.

Now one thing that frustrates me is that I never feel like I really accomplish anything when I sit here, typing away, all by myself. Remember the NaNoWriMo wordcounter? How cool it was to update that and have friends cheer you on and see how they did? That counter is half the charm of InterNaNoWriMo.

I found something like that on tumblr! Did I mention that tumblr has a great writing community?

The tool is called myWriteClub, it let’s you set goals for your writing project and update the wordcount. It’s very simple and untwiddly (yes that’s a word), just the bare essentials. The best part is that you can follow your friends and see how they do on their goals and you can cheer each other on! I love that!

I encourage you to check it out, my name is barbex over there by the way.

Happy writing!

Leave a Reply

