Free Online SF+F Writing Course

Yes! My favorite podcast!

Andrew Knighton writes

In the best news ever for people learning to write science fiction and fantasy, the Writing Excuses podcast have decided that this year they’re going to run the show as a writing course.

Regular readers of this blog, along with anyone I’ve talked writing with for more than five minutes, will know that I’m a huge fan of Writing Excuses. It’s a brilliant show in which professional genre writers Mary Robinette Kowal*, Brandon Sanderson**, Howard Tayler and Dan Wells*** dish out weekly writing advice. This week they started season ten of the show, which will be a carefully structured year long course with themed lessons, writing exercises and Q&A at the end of each topic. If you’re not already listening to the show, and you want to hear some high quality writing advice, this is a great place to start.

Go forth, my happy writing minions, and listen to the…

View original post 47 more words

5 thoughts on “Free Online SF+F Writing Course

  1. It’s my favourite podcast too. Or at least joint favourite with the Revolutions Podcast, which is great for historical inspiration.

    My efforts at the first masterclass exercise will be on my blog tomorrow. It was rather fun.

    Like

    1. I will have to check out the Revolutions podcast since I’m writing a historical fiction novel. And I missed the first assignment in the Writing Excuses class, didn’t I? Damn, have to catch up.

      Like

      1. There’s always time to catch up – it took me over a week to get around to it.

        What historical period are you writing in? My degrees are in history, so I’m always interested in that sort of thing.

        Like

      2. I’m writing around 850 AD, the viking times to be precise.
        It’s the time were the vikings settled down and were much more known as traders than wild invaders. I’ve done a lot of research and I loved that, that’s one of the things that kind of falls away after you left school but now I need to step away from the research and just let the characters live.

        Like

      3. Fascinating era. I love the mingling of cultures and the political complexities that arise as these raiding fleets become settled communities. And who doesn’t love Vikings?

        Like

Leave a Reply

