Write the Novel – Fourth Edit – All Those Pesky Words

Oh this is clever, I never thought about checking word frequency! That is a clever way to make the language better, cutting down on needlessly repeated words. I wonder if I can find a way of checking for that with other writing software (yes, I will buy Scrivener at some point…).

Sharon Wildwind

I’ve just finished writing a 88,000 word novel. There are probably an equal number of spaces and punctuation marks. That makes roughly 176,000 potential mistakes. One human brains simply cannot find that many mistakes. We need computer help.

Word Frequency

I write in Scrivener and, eventually, compile the entire book into Word. Scrivener does both a total word frequency count, and a word frequency count. Thanks to Astrid at Literature and Latte, who showed me how to do the frequency word count. The trick is to select all of the chapters in the book and wait for the total word count to finish. Then click on text stats, go down to the frequency word count and click on the triangle.

This is better than Word, which gives me a total count, but no word frequency. I’ve also looked at some word frequency applications, but they all appear to be done…

View original post 1,203 more words

Leave a Reply

